PBMA H V Desai
Awards & Achievements

  • Year 2012

Shri. N. P. Pandya has been awarded the most prestigious National Padma Award "PADMASHRI" for his dedicated and committed exemplary social work for 46 years in rehabilitation and prevention of blindness.



Dr. Col.(Retd) Madan Deshpande, Chief Medical Director, PBMA’s H. V. Desai Eye Hospital has been awarded "Outstanding Service in Prevention of Blindness Award by Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology(APAO) on 15th April 2012 in recognition of individuals that has made scientific contribution to prevention of blindness in the Asia Pacific Region. This APAO is the largest ophthalmic organization in their annual meeting at Busan, Korea where 65 countries have participated. This special award was conferred on Dr. Col. M. Deshpande. He is also presently President of VISION 2020: The Right to Sight–India, President of Indian Association of Community Ophthalmology (INACO ) and Community Ophthalmology Society of India (COSI). He is most popular and senior teacher, ophthalmologist and presently working to reduce the burden of avoidable blindness at the national level.

  • Year 2008

it gives us great pleasure, to inform you that the day, 10 June of each year, is declared as Dr. Bhalchandra Day by Government of Maharashtra. Dr. Bhalchandra was a renowned eye surgeon and a great human being. On this day, the work done, in this field, by institutions and individuals is recognized by The Government of Maharashtra, Ministry of health. We are recognized as:

  1. An institute having done maximum cataract surgeries in the year 2008.
  2. An institute having done maximum keratoplasty surgeries in Maharashtra.

 Mr. N. P. Pandya (bereaved in 2017) & Dr. M. Deshpande  attended the function. This recognition, by the Government of Maharashtra has encouraged us beyond measure. Subsequently, we have an added responsibility on us do better and better.

  • Year 2007

The Eye Bank of PBMA's H. V. Desai Eye Hospital has been recognized and awarded by the Government of Maharashtra as the 'Best Eye Bank in Pune'. The felicitation took place at Arogya Bhavan, Mumbai, Maharashtra on 5/9/2007 at 11:00 am. The function was attended by Mr. N. P. Pandya ( bereaved in 2017), Dr. M. Deshpande & Dr. (Mrs.) Gogate.



Dr. (Mrs) Sucheta Kulkarni was awarded the 'J.P Mahashabde award' for her paper presentation in AIOS in February, 2007 at Hyderabad. The paper was also selected as 'Indian Paper' in the IOS conference held at Hongkong in the year 2008.

Dr. (Mrs) Sucheta Kulkarni was awarded 'V K Chitnis Oration Award' in the year 2013

Mr. N. P. Pandya, was awarded for individual contribution in the field of community eye care. He received the award from Mr. V. K. Subburaj, IAS, (Health Secretary, Government of Tamil Nadu on 25th November, 2007 at Sankara Eye Centre, Coimbatore.


PBMA's H. V. Desai Eye Hospital, 93, Tarwade Vasti, Mohammadwadi road, Hadapsar, Pune MH 411060 India

Contact No

+91-20-26970144 | 26970043

+91-20-30114000 | 30114201

Working Hours

Mon to Fri - 8:00 am to 4:00 pm
Mon to Fri - 5:00 pm to 7:00 pm
Saturday : 8:00 am to 2:00 pm
Sunday : Closed

Keep In Touch

We are happy to answer your questions at desaieyehospital@hvdeh.org

Copyright 2017 PBMA's H. V. Desai Eye Hospital
Best viewed in IE 10+, Firefox 20+, Chrome , Safari5+, Opera12+
Online Appointment
Go to Top